BCCI Approves 10-Team IPL From 2022


The BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) has approved a 10-team IPL from 2022. The decision was ratified by the BCCI's general body comprising the state associations at the board's annual general meeting on Thursday in Ahmedabad. The decision for adding two new teams was one of the main agendas of the BCCI’s 89th Annual General Meeting. However, with less than four months left for next year’s IPL, the two new franchises will be added to the league in 2022. IPL 2021 will be played by 8 teams. 

This big decision which was taken at the AGM today was concerned with the want to expand the IPL, which the BCCI has been discussing since the successful last season of the league in the UAE despite the challenges of the ongoing pandemic.  of the recent edition in the UAE despite the challenges of the Covid-19 pandemic. It is understood that at the meeting on Thursday, both Sourav Ganguly and Jay Shah, the BCCI president and secretary, stressed that the IPL must become bigger, to provide more opportunities to more players worldwide while adding new cities to the IPL map.

The members of the board then accordingly decided that the IPL can comprise up to 10 teams from the 2022 edition and authorised the IPL governing council to finalise the decision and begin preparations for the new additions. It has been decided to set a limit of one team per state, which left international match venues like Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Visakhapatnam, Kochi/Thiruvananthapuram and Lucknow, to host the new franchises. currently, as per speculations, Ahmedabad could be one of the states to bag one of the two franchises; while Lucknow or Kanpur could be another potential team. 

Among other important decisions at the recent meeting, veteran Congress leader Rajiv Shukla has officially anointed BCCI vice president in place of Mahim Verma from Uttarakhand.