Emmy Awards 2020: Updates And List of Winners

Emmy Awards 2020: Updates And List of Winners

Image by
ITU Pictures
Emmy Award
on flickr

With this pandemic, everything is looking much different for film festivals with less audience, Saturday Night Live is online and now the TV industry’s glamorous night of the year – the Primetime Emmy Awards. 

Audience free Jimmy Kimmel was emceeing the celebrations from the Staples Center in Los Angeles and winners accepting awards virtually, digitally, remotely in a socially distanced way.

Who stole the limelight?

The Pop TV’s riches to rags comedy Schitt’s Creek has been nominated for 15. The Canadian stars Catherine O’Hara and Eugene Levy won the lead comedy acting awards. All four of them triumphed in their acting category along with writer and director to top off the night, bagging seven trophies in a row.

After the Schitt’s had swept the awards, HBO was ready with its trophy parade starting from dystopian superhero drama Watchmen which has been nominated for 26 categories and won seven at the Creative Arts Emmy. Followed by four more awards that include Outstanding Limited Series, and acting trophies for Regina King and Yahya Abdul-Mateen II. 

Next in line was Succession with 18 nominations and won three at the Creative Arts Emmys including Outstanding Drama, an acting statue for Jeremy Strong, and in directing as well as writing.

 Scroll by the full list of winners from the 72nd Emmy Awards on Sunday Night

Outstanding Comedy Series: Schitt’s Creek

Outstanding Drama Series: Succession

Outstanding Limited Series: Watchmen

Outstanding Variety Talk Show: Last Week Tonight With John Oliver

Outstanding Television Movie: Bad Education

Outstanding Actor – Comedy: Eugene Levy (Schitt’s Creek)

Outstanding Actor – Drama: Jeremy Strong, (Succession)

Outstanding Actor – Limited Series or Movie: Mark Ruffalo (I Know This Much Is True)

Outstanding Actress – Comedy: Catherine O’Hara (Schitt’s Creek)

Outstanding Actress – Drama: Zendaya, (Euphoria)

Outstanding Actress – Limited Series or Movie: Regina King (Watchmen)

Outstanding Supporting Actor – Comedy: Daniel Levy, (Schitt’s Creek)

Outstanding Supporting Actor – Drama: Billy Crudup, (The Morning Show)

Outstanding Supporting Actor – Limited Series or Movie: Yahya Abdul-Mateen 2 (Watchmen)

Outstanding Supporting Actress – Comedy: Annie Murphy, Schitt’s Creek

Outstanding Supporting Actress – Drama: Julia Garner, (Ozark)

Outstanding Supporting Actress – Limited Series or Movie: Uzo Aduba (Mrs America

Outstanding Director – Comedy: Daniel Levy, (Schitt’s Creek)

Outstanding Director – Drama: Andrij Parekh, (Succession)

Outstanding Director – Limited Series, Movie or Dramatic Special: Maria Schrader (Unorthodox)

Outstanding Writing – Comedy: Daniel Levy, (Schitt’s Creek)

Outstanding Writing – Drama:Jesse Armstrong, (Succession)

Outstanding Writing – Limited Series, Movie Or Dramatic Special: Damon Lindelof, Cord Jefferson (Watchmen)

Outstanding Competition Program: RuPaul’s Drag Race

Governors Award: Tyler Perry and The Perry Foundation