Team India Make History Away From Home

India Australia

A young Indian cricket team stunned Australia by 3 wickets in the Brisbane Test earlier this week, winning the four-match test series 2-1 and retaining the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

The triumph has already been named a “win for the ages”, “the greatest victory ever” and “the greatest moment in Indian Test history”. Winning at The Gabba is a whole other feeling, with a pitch that only suits the Australian way and the heat that scorches. Australia has not lost a series at the Gabba since 1988, and have been in shock since the loss. The Indian team was beset by injuries, and have had their morale stumped to an absolute low after their record-breaking loss in Adelaide a few weeks ago. 

Australia had won the pink-ball Adelaide Test while India struck back with a victory in Melbourne. The third Test in Sydney had ended in a draw.

At the start of the game, India lost their experienced vice-captain Rohit Sharma after he made only 7 runs, but young debutant Shubhman Gill rose to the occasion and stayed on the pitch to hit a whopping 91 runs. Rishabh Pant won hearts that day with his 89 (not out) runs in his innings. Cheteshwar Pujara was India’s glue as he took blow after blow in an innings of 56, with 211 deliveries. The players stunned India to overhaul Australia’s 329 run target. The audacious Pant finished off the game with a graceful boundary, sparking the historic celebrations for the win.

Mohammed Siraj’s unforgettable perseverance will be a highlight of the series, while he missed his father’s funeral while on tour and also endured alleged crowd racism in Sydney, but continued to play with so much passion, superbly leading a second-string attack in Brisbane. 

Ajinkya Rahane’s composed captaincy, calm but filled with resilience, will live on as he substituted for Virat Kohli who missed a part of the series while he is on paternity leave.